TVET Glossary of Terms

This glossary of terms intends to provide the TESDA key players, partners, and stakeholders an online and updated TVET information, concepts, to bring common understanding and clarification on the use of TESDA terminologies.

CERTIFICATION a formal process of recognizing that an individual is qualified in terms of particular knowledge, skills and attitudes based on industry standards.
Source: (TESDA Circular No. 15, s. 2015)
CERTIFICATION RATE the proportion (in percent) of persons who passed the national competency assessment to the total who took competency assessment for or within a given period.
Source: (2005 IACES)
CERTIFICATION, AUTHENTICATION AND VERIFICATION (CAV) a procedure wherein documents are authenticated and certified as authentic by TESDA and conforms to the service standards set by the authentication process of the Office of Consular Affairs, Department of Foreign Affairs (DFA).
Source: (Memorandum of Agreement on Issuance of CAV)

classified to seven categories, namely:

a.  work for private household – these are employed persons working in a private household for pay, in cash or in kind;

b.  work for private establishment – these are persons working in a private establishment for pay, in cash or in kind. This category includes not only persons working for a private industry but also those working for a religious group, missionary, unions, and non-profit organizations. Examples of persons working for a private establishment are public transport drivers who do not own the vehicle but drive them on boundary basis, persons working in public works projects on private contractors, dock hands or stevedores, cargo handlers in railroad station or piers, etc.;

c.  work for government/government corporation – these are persons working for the government or a government corporation or any of its instrumentalities. This category of worker includes the following workers: chaplains in the Armed Forces of the Philippines, Filipinos working in embassies, legation, chancelleries or consulates of foreign government in the Philippines and those working in international organizations of Sovereign States of Governments like the United nations (UN), World health Organization (WHO), etc.;

d.  self-employed – these are persons who operate their own businesses or trades and do not employ paid workers in the conduct of their economic activities. This category includes workers who worked purely on commission basis and who may not have regular working hours;

e.  employers – these are persons who employ one or more paid employees in the operation of their businesses or trades. Thus, domestic helpers, family drivers and other household helpers who assist in the family-operated business, regardless of time spent in this activity, are not hired employees in the enterprise/business. A farm or business proprietor who is assisted purely by such domestic help is not also considered an employer;

f. worked with pay on own-family operated farm or business – members of the family who receive cash or fixed share of the produce as payment for their services in a farm or business operated by another member living in the same household; and

g.  worked without pay on own-family farm or business – members of the family who assist another member in the operation of the family farm or business enterprise and who do not receive any wage or salary for their work.

Source: (NSO)
CLOSED PROGRAMS refers to program(s) that were closed/delisted due to closure of TVls, non-compliance with deficiency(ies) after the prescribed period, or non-migration within the prescribed period. The program shall be reported closed after completion of closure proceedings.
Source: (Operating Procedures for Compliance Audit)
CLOSURE REPORT a report submitted to the National Quality Management Committee (NQMC) regarding the status of actions taken by the Auditee as per compliance of audit findings.
Source: (TESDA Procedures Manual on Compliance Audit)
CLUSTER OF UNITS OF COMPETENCY refers to a group of competencies as defined in the Training Regulations that corresponds to a Certificate of Competency. A cluster of units of competency includes the basic, common and core competencies addressing a Certificate of Competency that can be offered as a registered program.
Source: (TESDA Circular No. 7 s. 2016)
CO-MANAGEMENT a partnership of two or more organizations that agreed to manage training facilities by adhering to distinct and shared responsibilities under a formal agreement for the implementation of training and training-related functions.
Source: (TESDA Memorandum dated 11/03/2001)
COLLEGE TVET provider offering of at least eighteen (18) programs in the PQF Level I, II, III, & IV and (2) in PQF Level V (Diploma) programs
Source: TESDA Circular No. 090 s. 2018
COMPETENCY refers to the specification of the knowledge, skills and attitude and the application of that knowledge, skills and attitude to the standard of performance required in the workplace.
Source: (TESDA Circular No. 7 s. 2016)

Page 8 of 36