TVET Glossary of Terms

This glossary of terms intends to provide the TESDA key players, partners, and stakeholders an online and updated TVET information, concepts, to bring common understanding and clarification on the use of TESDA terminologies.

PSALM APPROACH an acronym for a planning approach developed and adopted by TESDA which stands for Policy-oriented, Sector-focused, Area-based, Labor Market-driven approach. It is used in generating labor market information on priority sectors and critical skills, vital for TESD planning and decision making.
Source: -
QUALIFICATION refers to a package of competencies describing a particular function or job role existing in an economic sector, covering the work activities required to undertake a particular job. Depending on the breadth, depth, and scope of competency, a qualification may fall under National Certificate level I, II, III, IV or Diploma. A Training Regulations is a full qualification while a Certificate of Competency is leading to a qualification.
Source: (TESDA Circular No. 7 s. 2016)
QUALIFICATION CERTIFICATION certification awarded to a person on successful completion of a course in recognition of having achieved particular knowledge, skills or competencies.
Source: (UNEVOC/NCVER 2009)
QUALIFICATION DESCRIPTOR a unique descriptor stating the purpose of the qualification and how it relates to other qualification types; it enables comparisons with other qualifications and provides a basis for designing, evaluating, approving and reviewing qualifications and their associated curricula.
Source: (SAQA 2013, South Africa)
QUALIFICATION PACKAGING the process of combining units of competency into groups which meet job roles and are meaningful in the workplace.
Source: (TESDA Board Resolution No. 2014-04 dated April 30, 2014)
RATING SHEET contains specific questions or activity(ies) developed from the selected assessment methods to be used for assessment. It includes a checklist for the key observation points and performance standard and series of questions. It describes measures and records outcomes or evidence for each assessment event or activity.
Source: -
RECOGNITION OF PRIOR LEARNING (RPL) refers to the process in which the individual’s previous learning outside the formal system, which contributes to the achievement of current competency/ies, can be assessed against the relevant unit or units of competency and given recognition through the issuance of the appropriate National Certificate or Certificate of Competency.
Source: (TESDA Circular No. 7 s. 2016)
RECOGNITION OF PRIOR LEARNING (RPL) AND RECOGNITION OF CURRENT COMPETENCY (RCC) the acknowledgment of an individual's currently possessed skills, knowledge, and attitudes acquired through previous training, work, and experiences.
Source: (TESDA Circular No. 15, s. 2015)
RECREATIONAL LEARNING learning which is for personal development purposes, recreation and leisure, undertaken to improve quality of life. Recreational learning can lead to vocational learning if the goals of learners in their chosen subject become work oriented.
Source: (EU Commission AL 2010, Europe)
REGISTRY OF WORKERS ASSESSED AND CERTIFIED (RWAC) refers to a record that contains the documentation of the results of the assessment and as a basis for national certification.
Source: (TESDA Circular No. 15, s. 2015)

Page 27 of 36